R. (Larry) Gerard Medal

The Gerard Medal was established by the Committee in 1991 to recognize and remember the contributions made to the field of river ice engineering by the late Dr. R. (Larry) Gerard. The medal is awarded to the author or authors of the paper deemed to be the best amongst those presented at each Workshop on the Hydraulics of Ice Covered Rivers.

2Dr. Gerard was a Professor of Civil Engineering at the University of Alberta and was recognized world-wide for his contributions in river ice engineering. The International Association for Hydraulic Research (IAHR) published a tribute detailing the career and accomplishments of Dr. Gerard as a part of the 11th International Symposium on Ice in Banff, Alberta in 1992.

Award recipients

  • Benoit Turcotte, Knut Alfredsen, Spyros Beltaos, and Brian Burrell

    Ice-Related Floods and Flood Delineation along Streams and Small Rivers. 19th Workshop on River Ice – 2017, Whitehorse.

  • Benoit Turcotte, Brian Burrell, and Spyros Beltaos

    The Impact of Climate Change on Breakup Ice Jams in Canada: State of knowledge and research approaches. 20th Workshop on River Ice – 2019, Ottawa.