Kersi S. Davar Award

The Kersi S. Davar Award was established by the Committee in 2009 to recognize and remember the contributions made to the field of river ice engineering by Dr. Kersi S. Davar. The medal is awarded to professional engineers and scientists who have demonstrated knowledge of river ice engineering and science in a practical application that benefits human society.

Dr. Davar was a Professor of Civil Engineering at the University of New Brunswick and was one of the first academics in Canada to specialize in river ice engineering and science. After earning his Bachelors degree in Civil Engineering from Bombay University in India, Dr. Davar went on to Colorado State University, where he earned Masters and Ph.D. degrees in 1957 and 1961. Dr. Davar then came to Canada and took on the position Assistant Professor in the Department of Civil Engineering at the University of New Brunswick in Fredericton. He became a full Professor in 1968 and continued at the University of New Brunswick until his retirement in 1990. He specialized in hydrology, hydraulics, and water resources planning and management.

In addition to having the Kersi S. Davar Award created in his honour, and being its first recipient in 2009, Dr. Davar received the Distinguished Service Award from the Canadian Water Resources Association in 1991. The Distinguished Service Award recognized his outstanding contributions to development and management of water resources in Canada, in particular for his key role he in establishing the Subcommittee on Hydraulics of Ice Covered Rivers, which ultimately evolved into the Committee on River Ice Processes and the Environment. Dr. Davar served as Chair the committee from 1975 to 1992. He was also recognized by the Canadian Society for Civil Engineering in 2002 for contributions to the advancement of hydrotechnical engineering in Atlantic Canada.

After retirement, Dr. Davar continued to serve as a Professor Emeritus and offered leadership in an advisory role to the CRIPE. Sadly, Dr. Davar passed away in January 2015. He is greatly missed by his CRIPE colleagues.